Audiolibros 

images

S has been enjoying audiobooks as part of his bedtime routine for a few months. We have a couple of traditional story books in Spanish that came with audio CDs which was a good starting point but soon we wanted to expand our collection.

Ideally I was looking for stories that last about 10-15 minutes aimed at children aged 5-6. I wanted to avoid ordering a physical CD and paying international shipping, and most importantly I needed the audiobooks in mp3 format available to download directly onto the computer and then use on other devices.  I tried Audible, the Amazon audiobook service, but I didn’t like the app or the way you access and manage the audio files.

Apparently this is a tall order!  The best I could do was these fables. I’m still on the hunt so welcome any recommendations, although I’ve been told audiobooks aren’t as popular in Spain as they are in the UK.  I will also see what I can find in Mexico this summer, and keep you posted.

As an interim solution someone suggested looking on YouTube. Here you’ll find videos of famous children’s picture books either read aloud or as a ‘video book’ with sounds effects and images.  I have now managed to download the audio files using the Listen to YouTube from a good selection of stories to add to our collection. I recommend the YouTube channel Aula de Elena as a good starting point.

UPDATE: I have now found two new sources of free audio books in Spanish for download. The first is Alba Learning – from Spain.  The website is a bit clunky but there is a large section of children’s audio books which are mainly classic fairy tales. LibriVox is US-based and has audio books in many languages. The website looks more professional but unfortunately you can only search by either language or genre but going through the Spanish ones I found some classics like the Adventures of Tom Sawyer and Treasure Island, as well as Grimms fairy tales and fables.  You can also search for individual titles or authors.

Do your bilingual children like audiobooks? I’d love to hear from you.

Leave a Reply

