Adding a third language 

download-1

S has asked to learn French. As a language enthusiast myself this is highly exciting. I have been exploring options and information about how to teach a preschooler French. It’s interesting how different it is, learning a language from birth, compared to as a foreign language.

I decided to start with books and invested in a couple of French dictionary style children’s books by Usborne. I’ve also asked my mum (who lives in France) to get us a book of French nursery rhymes with a CD. I will enjoy that myself. I’ve always meant to properly learn the words to ‘Sur le Pont d’Avignon’.

I also signed S up for some local classes by Lingotot, who run language sessions for 1 to 4 year olds based around fun songs and games. We were supposed to start this week but unfortunately the class was cancelled due to a lack of interest. So it was back to the drawing board.

Then I stumbled across a listing for a French tutor who teaches young children. She plays with children using both English and French and introduces the new language naturally. S loved the extra attention (especially now he has to share me with baby E) and was keen to show her his new room and toys. This seems like a perfect fit for us. We look forward to starting weekly ‘French play’ sessions next week after yesterday’s trial.

We’ve also been trying out a few French cartoons on YouTube including Caillou and T’choupi.

Have you introduced a new language too? I’d love to hear how you’re getting on. Do share any tips.

Leave a Reply

